American Philatelic Society Awards

Comments Off on American Philatelic Society Awards

September 8, 2016 Sarah Ashlock

CONGRATULATIONS are in order for Cheryl Ganz, Diane Delois, and Robert Dalton Harris. At the annual American Philatelic Society's StampShow this August in Portland, Oregon, three of our Society members were honored with the APS's highest awards:

Cheryl Ganz: Luff Award for Exceptional Contributions to Philately

Diane DeBlois and Robert Dalton Harris: The Luff Award for Distinguished Philatelic Research

The awards were named for the first president of the APS (from 1907 to 1909), John N. Luff, the most prominent American philatelist of his era. Awardees sign the Luff Award Scroll (see photo), on display at Society headquarters in Bellefonte PA, and are presented with engraved rings and hand-engrossed illuminated certificates at the Tiffany Dinner (named for another prominent philatelist).

DeBlois and Harris were to be introduced by former Ephemera Society President Art Groten. In his absence, Charles Epting, one of our newest members and presenter at our 2016 conference, was pleased to introduce his mentors (see photo) - in the field of philately as well as ephemera - which is, after all, an umbrella term for postage stamps as for much else! For honoree bios:


unnamed unnamed-2 unnamed-3

Comments Off on American Philatelic Society Awards

Sorry, comments are closed.

Paraphilately Page


  • Articles (269)
  • Book reviews (2)
  • Conference Presentation (4)
  • Events (5)
  • Labels (1)
  • Member Catalogues (1)
  • Profiles on Society Members (2)
  • Resources (11)
  • Scrapbooks (1)
  • Social History (1)
  • Speakers Bureau (14)
  • Uncategorized (2)
  • Videos (1)

Recent Comments