Jay Last Earns the 2005 Maurice Rickards Award

Jay T. Last has been earning the 2005 Maurice Rickards Award for three decades. This year in Greenwich, he'll receive it.

Last, a "voracious" collector whose interests span many areas of 19th-century American ephemera, has spread the word about ephemera through writing and exhibits. His books on California orange and fruit crate labels with co-author Gordon McClellan, first appeared in the early 1980s and continue to interest new and existing collectors.

Last, the physicist who led the research team that developed the world's first integrated circuit, has almost completed a study of 700 American chromolithographers and their work, 100 of them in detail. It will be published later this year.

Besides his public scholarship and writing, Last has served on the Society's board of directors and has sustained the Society in difficult times. The Rickards Award is the highest honor the Society bestows and it will be presented during the Ephemera 25 banquet on Saturday night, March 19th.

For a more detailed look at Last and his accomplishments, read the profile that appears in the Ephemera News winter issue, Vol. 23, No. 2.


The Ephemera Society of America also has designed special awards for its three living founders, William Frost Mobley, Emily Davis, and Calvin P. Otto. All three were involved in World Ephemera Year in 1980 sponsored by The Ephemera Society in England, and proposed a conference and paper fair in the United States to complement the London-based activities. The Ephemera Society of America blossomed from that original event in 1980. Jack Golden, the fourth founder, was honored before his death. The elegantly bound documents, reportedly being produced in Spencerian script, a home-grown American form of ornamental penmanship, will be unveiled during the Saturday night banquet.

   © 2011 The Ephemera Society of America